Make A Reservation

American Music Icon Loretta Lynn Releasing Eagerly-Awaited New Studio Album, Wouldn’t It Be Great, on Friday, September 28

Title Track “Wouldn’t It Be Great?” Premieres Today

Latest Volume of Loretta’s Cash Cabin Sessions–Produced by Patsy Lynn Russell and John Carter Cash–Premieres New Compositions and Revisits Timeless Classics Written (or co-written) by Loretta Lynn

August 22, 2018-New York, NY-Legacy Recordings (a division of Sony Music Entertainment) will release Wouldn’t It Be Great, the new studio album from American music icon Loretta Lynn, on Friday, September 28.

One of the most deeply personal albums of Loretta Lynn’s career, Wouldn’t It Be Great communicates in song the hard truths and spiritual insights Loretta has gathered throughout her life and reflects the resilience that sustains her still. Comprised entirely of songs written (or co-written) by Loretta, the album premieres new compositions alongside soulful reinterpretations of enduring classics from her catalog.  

“This new record means so much to me, but this last year I had to focus on my health and I decided to hold up the release,” said Loretta. “I’m feelin’ good and look forward to it comin’ out. It was really important to me to be a part of it being released and I’m excited to celebrate with everybody!”

Wouldn’t It Be Great is available for pre-order now in digital, CD and 12″ vinyl formats: https://lorettalynn.lnk.to/WIBG!PR. Exclusive Wouldn’t It Be Great album packages including limited edition, autographed, numbered photo prints and Loretta Lynn merchandise are also available (while supplies last): https://lorettalynn.lnk.to/WIBGPR/artiststore

In advance of the album’s release, the title track premieres on digital service providers today, Wednesday, August 22. Listen to it here:

“Wouldn’t It Be Great?” is the last song Loretta wrote for her late husband (Oliver “Doolittle” Lynn). “Well,” Loretta observes, “my husband liked to drink a lot and that’s where that song comes from… ‘Say you love me just one time, with a sober mind’…  I always liked that song but I never liked to sing it around Doo.” “That song just always meant so much to me,” continues their daughter (and album co-producer) Patsy Lynn Russell, “because of the lyrics, you know, ‘when my fancy lace couldn’t turn your face,’ it was just so powerful and was a song that needed to be recorded for this album with Loretta. It shows just how masterful my mom is with writing down her feelings.”

Like its predecessor, the critically-acclaimed, Grammy-nominated Full Circle (released March 2016), Wouldn’t It Be Great was mainly recorded at the Cash Cabin Studio in Hendersonville, Tennessee, with producers Patsy Lynn Russell and John Carter Cash.

An exploration of Loretta’s songwriting, Wouldn’t It Be Great finds her communicating the universality of human experience–love in all its intoxication and heartbreak, the abiding things of soul and spirit, the transformative power of music and connecting to the world. Wouldn’t It Be Great debuts new songs–“Ruby’s Stool,” “Ain’t No Time To Go,” “I’m Dying For Someone To Live For”–alongside newly recorded renditions of recent compositions (“God Makes No Mistakes,” from Lynn’s 2004 Grammy-winning Jack White-produced Van Lear Rose) and immortal classics like “Coal Miner’s Daughter” (the song Loretta says she’s most proud to have written, also the title of her 1976 memoir and subsequent Oscar-winning 1982 film adaptation) and “Don’t Come Home A’ Drinkin’ (With Lovin’ On Your Mind),” her first of 16 career No. 1 country singles.

A self-taught singer, songwriter and performer, Loretta Lynn is an archetype of American music, a singular artist whose music defined a genre and whose songs continue to inform new generations of musicians.

Loretta made waves in the American music world with 2016’s Full Circle, her first album in more than a decade. A powerful return-to-form, acclaimed by fans and critics alike, the album debuted at No. 4 on Billboard’s country charts (Loretta’s 40th Top 10 country album and her highest-charting album ever on the Billboard 200) and was nominated for Best Country Album at the 59th Annual Grammy Awards. Loretta followed Full Circle that same year with White Christmas Blue, an album sending listeners on seasonal trip to Lynn’s hometown of Butcher Hollow, Kentucky during Christmastime.

As part of its 50th anniversary commemoration, the Country Music Hall of Fame® and Museum mounted a major exhibition in 2017 focusing on the life, art and music of Loretta Lynn. The popular exhibition, “Loretta Lynn: Blue Kentucky Girl,” opened August 25, 2017 and closed August 5, 2018.

Loretta Lynn – Wouldn’t It Be Great

  1. Wouldn’t It Be Great? (written by Loretta Lynn)
  2. Ruby’s Stool (written by Loretta Lynn, Shawn Camp)
  3. I’m Dying for Someone to Live For (written by Loretta Lynn, Shawn Camp)
  4. Another Bridge to Burn (written by Loretta Lynn, Lola Jean Dillon)
  5. Ain’t No Time to Go (written by Loretta Lynn, Patsy Lynn Russell)
  6. God Makes No Mistakes (written by Loretta Lynn)
  7. These Ole Blues (written by Loretta Lynn, Patsy Lynn Russell)
  8. My Angel Mother  (written by Loretta Lynn)
  9. Don’t Come Home a Drinkin’ (written by Loretta Lynn, Peggy Sue Wells)
  10. The Big Man  (written by Loretta Lynn, Shawn Camp)
  11. Lulie Vars (Traditional, arrangement by Loretta Lynn)
  12. Darkest Day (written by Loretta Lynn)
  13. Coal Miner’s Daughter (written by Loretta Lynn)

Pre-order Wouldn’t It Be Great: https://lorettalynn.lnk.to/WIBG

Powered by Lapero